François Bachand, Ph. D.

François BachandInvestigator
Cancer : Biology, Prognosis, and Diagnosis Axis
Centre de recherche du CHUS

Canada Research Chair in Quality Control of Gene Expression

Associate Professor
Department of Biochemistry
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
Université de Sherbrooke

Contact Information
Phone | 819 346-1110 ext. 72733

E-Mail | F.Bachand@USherbrooke.ca

   

Research relevance

Mechanisms of Post-transcriptional Gene Regulation

Gene expression is the process by which the genomic information is used for the synthesis of messenger RNA (mRNA), required for protein synthesis. In most cancers, however, the expression of several genes is abnormal.

To better understand how gene expression is controlled in normal cells and cancer, the investigator François Bachand’s laboratory focuses on two distinct aspects of post-transcriptional gene regulation. On the one hand, he examines the role of various cytoplasmic and nuclear proteins that bind the poly (A) tail of RNA in the control of gene expression. On the other hand, his laboratory studies how post-translational modifications, especially arginine methylation, modulate the function of various RNA-binding proteins. His research group uses the most advanced methods in molecular biology, genomics, and proteomics to address these questions. His research is expected to lead to the discovery of new targets for treatment of several diseases.

Doctor Bachand obtained a B.Sc. in Microbiology and Immunology (McGill, 1996) and a M.Sc. from Université de Montréal (1998) and a Ph. D. in anatomy and cell biology (McGill, 2002). He then completed a postdoctoral fellowship at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute, affiliated with Harvard University (Boston).

 

To top

Representative achievements

  • Canada Research Chair - $500 000 per year over 5 years
  • $537 340 over five years from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) - Molecular control of ribosome biogenesis
  • $668 285 over five years from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) – Characterization of the molecular basis of oculopharyngeal muscular dystrophy
  • Finalist for the Maud Menten Award from the CIHR Institute of Genetics
  • Recipient of a Career Development Award from the International organization, Human Frontier Science Program

    

Know-How & Opportunities for Collaboration

  • Molecular Genetics
  • Gene  Expression Studies
  • Genomic and Proteomic Approaches

          

To top

François Bachand, Ph. D.

François BachandChercheur
Cancer : biologie, pronostic et diagnostic
Centre de recherche du CHUS

Titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur le contrôle de la qualité de l’expression génique

Professeur agrégé
Département de Biochimie de la Santé
Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé
Université de Sherbrooke

Coordonnées
Téléphone | 819 346-1110 poste 72733

Courriel | F.Bachand@USherbrooke.ca

   

Importance de la recherche

Contrôle de l’expression génique par des mécanismes post-transcriptionnels

L'expression des gènes est le processus par lequel l'information du génome est utilisée pour la synthèse des ARN messagers (ARNm), nécessaire à la synthèse de protéines. Or, dans la majorité des cancers, l’expression de plusieurs gènes est anormale.

Pour mieux comprendre comment l'expression des gènes est contrôlée dans les cellules normales et cancéreuses, le laboratoire du chercheur François Bachand s'intéresse à deux aspects distincts de la régulation post-transcriptionnelle des gènes. D'une part, il étudie le rôle de différentes protéines cytoplasmiques et nucléaires liant la queue poly(A) d'ARN dans le contrôle de l'expression génique. D'autre part, son laboratoire étudie comment les modifications post-traductionnelles, en particulier la méthylation aux arginines, modulent la fonction de diverses protéines liant l'ARN. Son groupe de recherche utilise les méthodes les plus avancées en biologie moléculaire, en génomique et en protéomique afin de répondre à ces questions. Sa recherche pourrait ainsi mener à la découverte de nouvelles cibles pour le traitement de plusieurs maladies.

Le docteur Bachand a obtenu un B.Sc. en microbiologie et immunologie (McGill, 1996) puis une maîtrise de l’Université de Montréal (1998) et un doctorat en anatomie et biologie cellulaire (McGill, 2002).  Il a ensuite effectué un stage postdoctoral au Dana Farber Cancer Institute, affilié à l’Université Harvard (Boston).

 

Vers le haut

Réalisations représentatives

  • Chaire de recherche du Canada –500 000 $ / an sur 5 ans
  • 537 340 $ sur cinq ans des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) – Contrôle moléculaire de la biogenèse des ribosomes
  • 668 285 $sur cinq ans des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) – Caractérisation des bases moléculaires de la dystrophie musculaire oculo-pharyngée
  • Finaliste au prix « Maud Menten » de l’Institut de Génétique des IRSC
  • Récipiendaire d’un « Career Development Award » de l’organisation internationale Human Frontier Science Program
      

Savoir-faire

  • Génétique moléculaire
  • Étude de l’expression génique
  • Utilisation d’approches en génomique et protéomique

          

Vers le haut