Daniel Houde, Ph. D.

Daniel HoudeInvestigator
Cancer: Biology, Prognosis, and Diagnosis Axis
Centre de recherche du CHUS

Full Professor
Department of Nuclear Medicine and Radiobiology
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
Université de Sherbrooke

Contact Information
Phone | 819 346-1110 ext. 14502

E-Mail | Daniel.Houde@USherbrooke.ca


Research relevance

Biomedical applications of ultra-short laser technology: Studies of transitory chemical physic processes of medical interest

Cancer is a leading cause of death in western societies. Current therapies against cancer are heavy and affect the quality of life of patients as well as having an impact on healthy tissues. In the arsenal of the clinician, in addition to cancer photodynamic therapy (PDT), radiotherapy occupies a very important place. The last major innovation occurred in 1946 with the proposal to use proton radiotherapy. However, the ideal dose deposition, that ensures full protection of healthy tissue, cannot be produced by any of these methods. Currently no protocol based on the action of ionizing radiation has produced this ideal dose deposition.

Physicist by training and specialist in the interaction of ultra-short laser and matter, the investigator Daniel Houde develops new approaches for the treatment of cancer based on femtosecond lasers. He has developed a patented new method that produces this ideal dose deposition in the tumor and constitutes an alternative to cancer treatment by radiotherapy. He also developed a two-photon PDT approach enabling the patient to overcome the inherent light sensitivity of this technique.


To top

Representative Achievements

  • Invention of laser radiotherapy (Meesat et. al, Proc. Ntl. Acad. Sci. USA 109, E2508-E2513, (2012), D. Houde et. al. , U.S. Provisional Patent Application No 61/313.553, Patent Cooperation (PCT), WO 2011/109907 A1, U.S.A.Patent No.13/580,038 (2012), Canadian Patent PCT/CA2011/000273 (2012), Korean patent 10-2012-7026796.)
  • Member of the Regroupement Québécois sur les Matériaux de Pointes (RQMP)
  • Founding member of the Advanced Laser Light Source du Canada (ALLS)
  • Member of i-MOVI - Interactive MOlecular MOdelling and Visualization Infrastructure


Know-How & Opportunities for Collaboration

  • Expert in ultrafast spectroscopy on chemical-physics process on organic molecules
  • Co-holder of several patents on laser technology in medicine
  • Specialist of terahertz spectroscopy applied to organic molecules


To top

Daniel Houde, Ph. D.

Daniel HoudeChercheur
Axe Cancer : biologie, pronostic et diagnostic
Centre de recherche du CHUS

Professeur titulaire
Département de médecine nucléaire et de radiobiologie
Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé
Université de Sherbrooke

Coordonnées
Téléphone | 819 346-1110 poste 14502

Courriel | Daniel.Houde@USherbrooke.ca

  

Importance de la recherche

Applications biomédicales de la technologie laser ultra-brève : Études des processus physico-chimiques transitoires d'intérêt médical

Le cancer est une des principales causes de décès dans les sociétés occidentales. Les traitements actuels contre le cancer sont lourds et affectent la qualité de vie des patients en plus d’avoir des répercussions sur les tissus sains. Dans l’arsenal du clinicien, en plus de la photothérapie dynamique du cancer (PDT), la radiothérapie occupe une place très importante. La dernière grande innovation est apparue en 1946 avec la proposition d’utiliser les protons en radiothérapie. Néanmoins le dépôt de dose idéal, c'est-à-dire celui qui assure la protection intégrale des tissus sains, ne peut être produit par aucune de ces méthodes. Actuellement aucun protocole basé sur l’action du rayonnement ionisant n’a produit ce dépôt de dose idéal.

Physicien de formation et spécialiste de l'interaction des lasers ultra-brefs avec la matière, le chercheur Daniel Houde développe de nouvelles approches pour le traitement du cancer basées sur les lasers femtosecondes. Il a développé une nouvelle méthode brevetée qui permet de produire le dépôt de dose idéal de radiation dans la tumeur et constitue une alternative au traitement du cancer par radiothérapie. Il a aussi développé une approche de PDT à deux photons permettant d'affranchir le patient de la photosensibilité inhérente à cette technique.

 

Vers le haut

Réalisations représentatives

  • Invention de la radiothérapie par laser (Meesat et. al, Proc. Ntl. Acad. Sci. USA 109, E2508-E2513, (2012), D. Houde et. al., U.S. Provisional Patent Application No 61/313.553, Patent Cooperation (PCT), WO 2011/109907 A1, U.S.A.Patent No.13/580,038 (2012), Canadian Patent PCT/CA2011/000273 (2012), Korean patent 10-2012-7026796.)
  • Membre du Regroupement Québécois sur les Matériaux de Pointes (RQMP)
  • Membre fondateur du Advanced Laser Light Source du Canada (ALLS)
  • Membre du i-MOVI - Interactive MOlecular MOdelling and Visualization Infrastructure

  

Savoir-faire

  • Expert en spectroscopie ultrarapide dédiée aux phénomènes physico-chimiques d'intérêt biologique
  • Codétenteur de plusieurs brevets sur la technologie laser en médecine
  • Spécialiste de la spectroscopie terahertz appliquée aux molécules organiques

                  

Vers le haut