Jean-Patrice Baillargeon, M. D., M. Sc.

Diabetes, Obesity, and Cardiovascular Complications Axis
Centre de recherche du CHUS

Centre hospitalier universitaire de Sherbrooke

Full Professor
Department of Medicine and Physiology/Biophysics
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
Université de Sherbrooke

Contact Information
Phone | 819 346-1110 ext. 14853
Fax | 819 564-5292
E-Mail |


Research relevance

Reducing the Impact of Obesity on Metabolic and Endocrine Health in Women : exploring the role of fatty acids in the development of polycystic ovary syndrome, and lifestyle management of obesity in primary care.

Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS) is a common condition affecting 6-10% of women of childbearing age. It is the most frequent endocrine disorder among young women in Canada. PCOS is defined by hyperandrogenism, chronic anovulation and/or polycystic ovaries. Accordingly, affected women usually seek medical attention for esthetical complains (hair growth, acnea) or infertility. Despite all the effort made in finding the causal factor of this pathology, many questions still remain unanswered regarding the mechanisms by which insulin resistance or insulin produces hyperandrogenemia. Dr. Jean-Patrice Baillargeon’s research program aims to elucidate the role of non-esterified fatty acid (NEFA) into the pathogenesis of PCOS. Furthermore, lifestyle modification is essential to reduce PCOS lipotoxicity and the burden of obesity in Canada. Dr. Baillargeon also seeks to assess the best approaches to support primary care for obesity management. The ultimate goal of his research is thus to reduce the impact of obesity, mainly on women’s health, and facilitate rapid knowledge transfer to clinical application through a translational approach.

Briefly, his research program is composed of 2 principal aims; 1) Determine the impacts of NEFAs on the induction of androgenic hypersecretion and associated mechanisms. This aim is tested in vivo in women with or at risk for PCOS, and in vitro in bovine, canine or human ovarian and/or adrenal gland cell cultures. This part of the project is innovative as clinical aspects are in continuity with fundamental works in order to maintain a bench-to-beside relationship. 2) Evaluate the impacts of management of obesity, using lifestyle strategies, integrated to primary care practices and the fertility clinic.

After obtaining is medical doctorate and is speciality in endocrinology, Dr. Baillargeon acquired specialized expertise in reproductive endocrinology and biostatistics over a three years fellow and master degree in the U.S. at the Virginia Commonwealth University.


To top

Representative Achievements

  • Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) – $ 345,000 for 3 years
  • Additional grants from the CIHR, Quebec ministry of health and social services, Foundation of Stars. Diabète Québec, Université de Sherbrooke, totalling over $ 70,000 / year
  • Dr. Baillargeon has published over 75 peer-reviewed articles and book chapters 
  • Dr. Baillargeon supervises/has supervised 11 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows


Know-How & Opportunities for Collaboration

  • Internationally renowned expert in obesity and mainly PCOS
  • Well-recognized expertise for in vivo metabolic assessment in humans
  • Demonstrated expertise in clinical research methodology and applied biostatistics


To top

Jean-Patrice Baillargeon, M. D., M. Sc.

Chercheur
Axe Diabète, obésité et complications cardiovasculaires
Centre de recherche du CHUS

Endocrinologue
Centre hospitalier universitaire de Sherbrooke

Professeur titulaire
Département de Médecine et Physiologie/Biophysique
Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé
Université de Sherbrooke

Coordonnées
Téléphone | 819 346-1110 poste 14853
Télécopieur | 819 564-5292
Courriel | Jean.Patrice.Baillargeon@USherbrooke.ca
  

Importance de la recherche

RÉDUIRE L’IMPACT DE L’OBÉSITÉ SUR LA SANTÉ MÉTABOLIQUE ET ENDOCRINIENNE CHEZ LA FEMME : Rôle des acides gras dans le développement du syndrome des ovaires polykystiques et prise en charge de l’obésité en première ligne.

Le syndrome des ovaires polykystiques (SOPK) est une condition fréquente affectant 6-10% des femmes en âge de procréer. Le SOPK est défini par un hyperandrogénisme, une anovulation chronique et/ou des ovaires polykystiques. Ces femmes consultent pour des problèmes esthétiques (pilosité au visage, acné) ou de l’infertilité. Malgré une recherche prolifique, plusieurs questions restent encore ouvertes quant aux mécanismes par lesquels la résistance à l’insuline ou l’insuline cause l’hyperandrogénisme du SOPK. Le programme de recherche du Dr Jean-Patrice Baillargeon a pour but d’élucider le rôle des acides gras dans la pathogenèse du SOPK. L’adoption de saines habitudes de vie est essentielle pour réduire la lipotoxicité du SOPK et le fardeau de l’obésité au Canada. Le Dr Baillargeon s’attarde aussi à étudier les meilleures approches pour supporter les soins primaires dans la prise en charge de l’obésité. Le but ultime de ces recherches est donc de réduire l’impact de l’obésité sur la santé, surtout celle des femmes, et de favoriser un transfert rapide des connaissances à la clinique en utilisant une approche translationnelle.

Le programme de recherche est donc composé de 2 principaux objectifs: 1) Déterminer l’impact des acides gras non estérifiés sur l’induction d’une hypersécrétion androgénique et les mécanismes associés. Cet objectif est vérifié in vivo chez des femmes présentant ou à risque de SOPK, et in vitro dans des cultures de cellules surrénaliennes et/ou ovariennes bovines, canines ou humaines. Cette portion du projet est novatrice puisque les aspects cliniques sont en continuité avec les orientations fondamentales du laboratoire. 2) Évaluer les impacts d’une prise en charge de l’obésité, surtout en favorisant l’adoption de saines habitudes de vie, intégrée à la pratique des professionnels de soins primaires ou de la clinique de fertilité.
Suite à l’obtention de son doctorat en médecine et sa spécialité en endocrinologie, le Dr Baillargeon a acquis une formation de pointe en endocrinologie de la reproduction ainsi qu’en biostatistiques durant une formation postdoctorale et une maîtrise aux E-U, au Virginia Commonwealth University.

 

Vers le haut

Réalisations représentatives

  • Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC-PASS) – $ 345 000 pour 3 années
  • Octrois additionnels des IRSC, Ministère de la Santé et des Services Sociaux du Québec, Fondation des Étoiles, Diabète Québec, Université de Sherbrooke, totalisant plus de $ 70 000 / année
  • Le Dr Baillargeon a publié plus de 75 articles révisés par les pairs et chapitres de livre
  • Le Dr Baillargeon surpervise/a supervisé 11 étudiants gradués et postdoctoraux

  

Savoir-faire

  • Expertise internationale en obésité et surtout en SOPK
  • Expertise reconnue pour conduire des études métaboliques chez l’humain
  • Expertise démontrée en méthodologie de la recherche clinique et biostatistique appliquée

            

Vers le haut