Inflammation - Pain

Description | Research Themes | Researchers

Urogynecology Research Laboratory led by Melanie Morin, Ph.D.Studying phenomena related to inflammation and pain is this axis main objective. Its researchers are investigating the inflammatory processes involved in inflammatory bowel and joint diseases, autoimmune diabetes, aging, cystic fibrosis, asthma, neurodegeneration, and neuroinflammation in order to shed light on the mechanisms involved in these phenomena.

Several other researchers are working on the development and characterization of new molecules for the treatment of pain, the analysis of brain responses, and the role of sex hormones in pain as well as studies on pain physiopathology, neurophysiology, and chronification.

Axis research also involves intestinal flora as well as the interactions between a host and its pathogens, such as influenza and prions.

The various types of research work are carried out from the basic-science and clinical approaches on different pathologies ranging from asthma and cystic fibrosis to rheumatoid arthritis, including Crohn's disease and gynecological pain.
 
Axis Director | Louis Gendron, Ph. D.

Axis Coordinator | Karine Tremblay

    Research Themes

    • Inflammatory bowel and joint diseases: Study of the mechanisms involved in Crohn's disease, chronic intestinal inflammation, and colorectal cancer

    • Acute and chronic pain: Study of the mechanisms involved in pain perception and transmission. Development and characterization of molecules that attenuate or inhibit pain. Study of the quality of life of chronic-pain patients

    • Neurodegeneration and neuroinflammation: Study of neural pathologies such as Alzheimer's disease and multiple sclerosis

    • Asthma and cystic fibrosis: Study of the mechanisms involved in allergies and pulmonary inflammatory diseases, including asthma and cystic fibrosis

    • Infectious diseases (e.g., influenza, prions, and intestinal microflora): Study of the interactions between pathogens and their hosts as well as the inflammatory responses induced by these interactions

    • Diabetes and autoimmune diseases: Study of the mechanisms involved in the development of autoimmune diseases such as diabetes, Alzheimer's disease, Graves' disease, Paget's disease, Addison's disease, and rheumatoid arthritis
        


    Researchers

    To top

Inflammation - Douleur

Description | Thèmes de recherche | Chercheurs

L’axe Inflammation - Douleur a comme objectif principal l’étude des phénomènes liés à l’inflammation et à la douleur. Les membres de l’axe étudient notamment les processus impliqués dans les maladies inflammatoires articulaires ou intestinales, le diabète auto-immun, le vieillissement, la fibrose kystique, l’asthme, la neurodégénérescence et la neuro-inflammation afin d’élucider les mécanismes sous-jacents à ces phénomènes.

En complémentarité, plusieurs chercheurs travaillent sur le développement et la caractérisation de nouvelles molécules anti-douleur, l’analyse des réponses cérébrales ou le rôle des hormones sexuelles dans la douleur ainsi que sur l’étude de la physiopathologie, la neurophysiologie et la chronicisation de la douleur. 

De plus, certains chercheurs de cet axe s’intéressent à la flore intestinale et aux interactions existant entre un hôte et ses pathogènes (influenza, prions). 

Ces différentes recherches se font selon des approches fondamentales et cliniques sur diverses pathologies allant de l’asthme et la fibrose kystique à la polyarthrite rhumatoïde, en passant par la maladie de Crohn et les douleurs gynécologiques.

Directeur de l'axe | Louis Gendron, Ph. D.

Coordonnatrice de l'axe | Karine Tremblay

Thèmes de recherche

  • Maladies inflammatoires intestinales et articulaires : étude des mécanismes impliqués dans la maladie de Crohn, l’inflammation chronique intestinale et le cancer colorectal.

  • Douleur aiguë et chronique : étude des mécanismes impliqués dans la perception et la transmission de la douleur. Élaboration et caractérisation de molécules capables d’atténuer ou d’inhiber la douleur. Étude de la qualité de vie chez les patients atteints de douleur chronique.

  • Neurodégénérescence et neuroinflammation : étude de pathologies neurales telles que l’Alzheimer et la sclérose en plaques.

  • Asthme et fibrose kystique : études des mécanismes impliqués dans les allergies et les maladies inflammatoires pulmonaires, dont l’asthme et la fibrose kystique.

  • Infectiologie (influenza, prions, microflore intestinale…) : étude des interactions existant entre des pathogènes et leurs hôtes et des réponses inflammatoires induites par ces interactions.

  • Diabète et maladies auto-immunes : études des mécanismes impliqués dans le développement de maladies auto-immunes telles que le diabète, l’Alzheimer, la maladie de Graves, le syndrome de Paget, la maladie d’Addison ou la polyarthrite rhumatoïde.


Chercheurs

Vers le haut