C. Florian Bentzinger, Ph. D.

Inflammation-Pain Axis
Centre de recherche du CHUS

Assistant Professor
Department of Physiology-Pharmacology
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
Université de Sherbrooke

Contact Information
Phone | 819 346-1110 ext. 70154

E-Mail | cf.bentzinger@usherbrooke.ca

Research Relevance

The Bentzinger group is interested in understanding how skeletal muscle stem cells (MuSCs) are controlled by cellular and acellular elements in their microenvironment and how these regulatory mechanisms are perturbed in pathophysiological conditions and aging. Ultimately, the team is aiming to exploit these insights for the development of novel stem cell based treatments for the musculoskeletal system.

Bentzinger’s work has led to the establishment of novel protocols for stem cell therapy of diseased skeletal muscle that exploit microenvironmental growth factors for improving engraftment outcomes (Bentzinger et al., J Cell Biol., 2014). In addition, the Bentzinger group has recently reported the discovery of a novel aging mechanism of muscle tissue that involves a perturbation of the adhesion of MuSC to their extracellular matrix microenvironment (Lukjanenko et al., Nat Med., 2016).

Ongoing projects in the group are focusing on (I) the role of extracellular matrix in regulating MuSCs, (II) the nature and function of support cell types in the MuSC microenvironment, and (III) novel strategies to boost the function of MuSCs in chronically degenerative diseases of skeletal muscle.

To top

Representative Achievements

  • Lukjanenko L, Jung MJ, Hegde N, Perruisseau-Carrier C, Migliavacca E, Rozo M, Karaz S, Jacot G, Schmidt M, Li L, Metairon S, Raymond F, Lee U, Sizzano F, Wilson DH, Dumont NA, Palini A, Fässler R, Steiner P, Descombes P, Rudnicki MA, Fan CM, von Maltzahn J, Feige JN, Bentzinger CF. Loss of fibronectin from the aged stem cell niche affects the regenerative capacity of skeletal muscle in mice. Nat Med. 2016 Aug;22(8):897-905. doi: 10.1038/nm.4126.
  • Bentzinger CF, von Maltzahn J, Dumont NA, Stark DA, Wang YX, Nhan K, Frenette J, Cornelison DD, Rudnicki MA. Wnt7a stimulates myogenic stem cell motility and engraftment resulting in improved muscle strength. J Cell Biol. 2014 Apr 14;205(1):97-111. doi: 10.1083/jcb.201310035.
  • Generation of uncommitted human IPSC derived muscle stem cells for therapeutic applications (Fondation suisse de recherche sur les maladies musculaires)

Know-How & Opportunities for Collaboration

  • Stem cell isolation, culture and transplantation
  • In-vivo models of muscle regeneration, muscular dystrophy and aging
  • Assessment of extracellular matrix-cell interaction



To top

C. Florian Bentzinger, Ph. D.

Chercheur
Axe Inflammation-Douleur
Centre de recherche du CHUS

Professeur adjoint
Département de pharmacologie-physiologie
Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé
Université de Sherbrooke

Coordonnées
Téléphone | 819 346-1110 poste 70154

Courriel | cf.bentzinger@USherbrooke.ca

Importance de la recherche

L’équipe du chercheur Bentzinger s’intéresse au contrôle des cellules souches musculaires (CSMs) par les éléments cellulaires et acellulaires de leur microenvironnement tissulaire et tente de mieux comprendre comment ces mécanismes sont perturbés dans des situations pathologiques ainsi qu’au cours du vieillissement. L’objectif principal poursuivi par l’équipe est d’utiliser ces découvertes pour le développement de nouveaux traitements impliquant les CSMs pour les troubles musculo-squelettiques.

Les travaux du chercheur Bentzinger ont déjà donné lieu à l’amélioration et au développement de nouveaux protocoles pour les thérapies à base de cellules souches pour les maladies musculaires (Bentzinger et al., J Cell Biol., 2014). Ces protocoles font usage de facteurs microenivronmentaux pour augmenter l’efficacité des greffes. L’équipe du chercheur Bentzinger a de plus découvert un nouveau mécanisme de vieillissement qui implique une perturbation de l'adhésion cellulaire à la matrice extracellulaire dans le microenvironnement des CSMs (Lukjanenko et al., Nat Med., 2016).

Les projets actuels du laboratoire mettent l'accent sur (I) le rôle de la matrice extracellulaire dans la régulation des CSMs, (II) la nature et la fonction des cellules de soutien dans le microenvironnement des CSMs, et (III) l’élaboration de nouvelles stratégies pour améliorer la fonction des CSMs dans les maladies musculaires chroniques.

Vers le haut

Réalisations représentatives

  • Lukjanenko L, Jung MJ, Hegde N, Perruisseau-Carrier C, Migliavacca E, Rozo M, Karaz S, Jacot G, Schmidt M, Li L, Metairon S, Raymond F, Lee U, Sizzano F, Wilson DH, Dumont NA, Palini A, Fässler R, Steiner P, Descombes P, Rudnicki MA, Fan CM, von Maltzahn J, Feige JN, Bentzinger CF. Loss of fibronectin from the aged stem cell niche affects the regenerative capacity of skeletal muscle in mice. Nat Med. 2016 Aug;22(8):897-905. doi: 10.1038/nm.4126.
  • Bentzinger CF, von Maltzahn J, Dumont NA, Stark DA, Wang YX, Nhan K, Frenette J, Cornelison DD, Rudnicki MA. Wnt7a stimulates myogenic stem cell motility and engraftment resulting in improved muscle strength. J Cell Biol. 2014 Apr 14;205(1):97-111. doi: 10.1083/jcb.201310035.
  • Generation of uncommitted human IPSC derived muscle stem cells for therapeutic applications (Fondation suisse de recherche sur les maladies musculaires)

Savoir-faire

  • Isolation, culture et transplantation des cellules souches
  • Modèles in-vivo de la régénération musculaire, dystrophie musculaire et vieillissement
  • Analyse des interactions de la matrice extracellulaire avec les cellules

 

 

Vers le haut