Alain Vanasse, M. D., Ph. D.

Investigator                      
Health: Populations, Organization, Practices Axis
Centre de recherche du CHUS

Scientific Director
Unité de soutien de la stratégie de recherche axée sur la patient (SRAP) (Québec SPOR support unit) IRSC-Québec

Scientific and Administrative Director
PRIMUS research group

Full Professor
Département of Family Medicine
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
Université de Sherbrooke

Contact Information
Phone | 819 346-1110 ext. 70540

                                            E-Mail |
Alain.vanasse@usherbrooke.ca

  

Research relevance

Care Trajectories and Chronic Ambulatory Care Sensitive Conditions: Secondary Data analysis and patient-oriented research

Doctor Alain Vanasse's research is based on secondary data analysis of health care administrative data, medical records, populational and geographical data, with an ecological approach. His research interests include epidemiology, pharmacoepidemiology and health geomatics. He is interested in patients with chronic and mental conditions, and Ambulatory Care Sensitive Conditions, in terms of health services utilization, efficacy of treatments and health outcomes. Since 2013, Dr Vanasse performs a series of funded research on care trajectories analysis, a field of research in full emergence. His work aims to better understand the patterns of care use in ambulatory care settings (consultations, diagnoses, preventive care, pharmacological treatments), in Emergency departments (high-frequency users, complex patients), and in hospitals (medical and diagnostic tests, interventions), as well as patient outcomes ("preventable" hospitalizations, early readmissions, and health status - morbidity, disability, mortality). In collaboration with expertise in several disciplines (such as biostatistics, medical informatics, clinical research and health economics), he works on the development and application of predictive models and sequential measurement methods for care trajectories (typologies, clustering, stratification).

Since the beginning of the 2000s, Dr Vanasse is also dedicated to the improvement of health databases for research, in terms of access and quality. In particular, he worked on the implementation of electronic clinical records, social statistics and survey data, spatial data, and hospital clinical data. More recently, he led the development of a population-based cohort for the study of care trajectories, now available to researchers in the “Centre d’accès aux données de recherche de l’Institut de statistique du Québec” (CADRISQ). He is also collaborating on the development of an infrastructure to facilitate the access and exploitation of enriched data and electronic medical records for patient-oriented research and reflective practice.

The research activities of Dr Vanasse are focused on improving clinical and organizational practices, evidence-based decision-making in public health, with a learning healthcare system approach.

To top

Representative Achievements

  • Research award - FRQS-MSSS-CHU in Technology Assessment and Evidence-based Medicine in University Hospitals
  • More than 10 000 000$ in research grants as a principal investigator
  • Realization of the "Provincial Cohort for the Study of Care Trajectories for Ambulatory Care Sensitive Conditions ": a large population-based cohort for health research, which includes data from the Canadian Community Health Survey between 2007 and 2016 (chronic health problems, access to care, socio-demographic characteristics), combined with RAMQ medical and administrative data (healthcare processes, pharmaceutical services, emergency visits, hospitalizations)
  • Realization of the « Interactive Atlas on Health Inequalities »: a geographic information system on chronic diseases and mental health, for public health policy makers and researchers

Significant Publications 

  • Vanasse, A., Courteau, M., & Ethier, J. F. (2018). The ‘6W’multidimensional model of care trajectories for patients with chronic ambulatory care sensitive conditions and hospital readmissions. Public health, 157, 53-61.
  • Vanasse, A., Courteau, J., Couillard, S., Beauchesne, M. F., & Larivée, P. (2017). Predicting One-year Mortality After a “First” Hospitalization for Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease: An Eight-Variable Assessment Score Tool. COPD: Journal of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, 14(5), 490-497.
  • Vanasse, A., Blais, L., Courteau, J., Cohen, A. A., Roberge, P., Larouche, A., ... & Roy, M. A. (2016). Comparative effectiveness and safety of antipsychotic drugs in schizophrenia treatment: a real?world observational study. Acta psychiatrica Scandinavica, 134(5), 374-384.

Know-How & Opportunities for Collaboration

  • Secondary data analysis (administrative, clinical, populational and geographical data) 
  • Health services research, care trajectories
  • Epidemiology, pharmacoepidemiology, health geomatics 

To top

Alain Vanasse, M. D., Ph. D.

Chercheur            
Axe Santé: populations, organisation, pratiques
Centre de recherche du CHUS

Directeur scientifique
Unité de soutien de la stratégie de recherche axée sur le patient (SRAP), IRSC-Québec

Directeur scientifique et administratif
Groupe de recherche PRIMUS

Professeur titulaire
Département de médecine de famille et de médecine d'urgence
Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé
Université de Sherbrooke

Coordonnées
Téléphone | 819 346-1110 poste 70540
                                            Courriel | Alain.vanasse@usherbrooke.ca

  

Importance de la recherche

Trajectoires de soins et conditions chroniques et propices aux soins ambulatoires : analyses de données en santé et recherche centrée sur le patient

Les recherches du Dr Alain Vanasse sont basées sur l’analyse de données médico-administratives, cliniques, populationnelles et géographiques, avec une approche écologique. Ses domaines de recherche touchent principalement l’épidémiologie, la pharmaco-épidémiologie et la géomatique de la santé. Il s’intéresse aux patients souffrant de conditions chroniques et mentales, et de conditions propices aux soins ambulatoires (CPSA), en termes d’utilisation des services de santé, d’efficacité des traitements et d’impacts sur la santé. Le Dr Vanasse dirige depuis 2013 une série de recherches subventionnées sur l’analyse des trajectoires de soins, un domaine de recherche en pleine émergence. Ses travaux visent à mieux comprendre l’utilisation des soins ambulatoires (consultations, diagnostics, soins préventifs, traitements pharmacologiques), des visites à l’urgence (fréquence, grands utilisateurs, patients complexes), et hospitaliers (examens, diagnostics, interventions), ainsi que leur impact sur la santé (hospitalisations « évitables », réadmissions précoces, état de santé – morbidité, invalidités, mortalité). En collaboration avec des expertises de plusieurs disciplines (telles que les biostatistiques, l’informatique médicale, la recherche clinique et l’économie de la santé), il travaille sur le développement et l’application de modèles prédictifs et de méthodes de mesure des séquences pour l’analyse des trajectoires de soins (typologies, regroupements, stratifications). 

D’autre part, depuis le début des années 2000, le Dr Vanasse se consacre également à l’amélioration des banques de données pour la recherche, en termes d’accès et de qualité. Il a notamment travaillé sur l’implantation des dossiers cliniques informatisés, puis sur les données de statistiques sociales et d’enquête, les données spatiales, ainsi que les données cliniques hospitalières. Plus récemment, il a dirigé la réalisation d’une cohorte populationnelle pour l’étude des trajectoires de soins, maintenant accessible (autorisés par la Commission d’accès à l’information) aux chercheurs dans les Centres d’accès aux données de recherche de l’Institut de statistique du Québec (CADRISQ). Il collabore aussi sur le développement d’une infrastructure pour faciliter l’accès et l’exploitation de données enrichies et des dossiers médicaux électroniques pour la recherche axée sur le patient et la pratique réflexive.  

Toutes les activités du Dr Vanasse ont pour but ultime d’améliorer les pratiques cliniques et organisationnelles, par des prises de décision fondées sur des données probantes en santé et avec une approche de système de santé apprenant.

Vers le haut

Réalisations représentatives

  • Chercheur boursier FRQS-MSSS-CHU en évaluation des technologies et des pratiques de pointe
  • Plus de 10 000 000 $ en subventions de recherche en tant que chercheur principal
  • Réalisation de la « Cohorte provinciale pour l’étude des trajectoires de soins pour des conditions propices aux soins ambulatoires » : une grande cohorte populationnelle en santé, qui inclut les données des enquêtes sur la santé de communauté canadienne (ESCC) de 2007 et 2016 (problèmes de santé chronique, accès aux soins, caractéristiques socio-démographiques), jumelées aux données médico-administratives de la RAMQ (actes médicaux, services pharmaceutiques, utilisation des urgences, hospitalisations)
  • Réalisation de « l’Atlas Interactif sur les Inégalités en Santé (AIIS) » : un système d’information géographique sur les maladies chroniques et la santé mentale, destiné aux décideurs et chercheurs en santé publique

  

Publications significatives

  • Vanasse, A., Courteau, M., & Ethier, J. F. (2018). The ‘6W’multidimensional model of care trajectories for patients with chronic ambulatory care sensitive conditions and hospital readmissions. Public health, 157, 53-61.
  • Vanasse, A., Courteau, J., Couillard, S., Beauchesne, M. F., & Larivée, P. (2017). Predicting One-year Mortality After a “First” Hospitalization for Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease: An Eight-Variable Assessment Score Tool. COPD: Journal of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, 14(5), 490-497.
  • Vanasse, A., Blais, L., Courteau, J., Cohen, A. A., Roberge, P., Larouche, A., ... & Roy, M. A. (2016). Comparative effectiveness and safety of antipsychotic drugs in schizophrenia treatment: a real?world observational study. Acta psychiatrica Scandinavica, 134(5), 374-384.

Savoir-faire

  • Analyses secondaires de banques de données en santé (données médico-administratives, cliniques, populationnelles et géographiques)
  • Recherche sur les services de santé, trajectoires de soins
  • Épidémiologie, pharmaco-épidémiologie, géomatique 
     

Vers le haut