Alan Cohen, Ph. D.

Investigtor
Health: Populations, Organization, Practices Axis
Centre de recherche du CHUS

Assistant Professor
Department of Family Medicine
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
Université de Sherbrooke

Contact Information
Phone | 819 346-1110 ext. 72590
Fax | 819 564-5386
E-Mail |
Alan.Cohen@USherbrooke.ca

  

Research Relevance

The investigator Alan Cohen is broadly interested in the application of advanced analytical and statistical methods to problems related to population health and to fundamental biological questions, particularly related to the aging process. We know that the aging process is highly complex, but we do not yet understand the fundamental biological mechanisms of aging, or how or why these vary across species.  

Doctor Cohen is using longitudinal epidemiological and biomarker data on aging to identify underlying patterns and processes in aging and their relationship to physiological causal pathways. He is applying similar methods to models of physiology across species in order to understand how physiological regulatory networks function at different timescales, how to measure them, and the consequences of this for how physiology evolves over time in relation to a changing environment and selective pressures.  In the long-term, he hopes to generate ways to measure biological age that could be applied clinically and will allow us to study social and economic factors that accelerate aging and chronic disease in disadvantaged populations. He also collaborates broadly on studies using statistical methods to understand population health using biomarkers.

 

To top

Representative Achievements

  • Developedment of a new evolutionary theory of aging, the "Systemic Constraints" theory
  • Organized a symposium at the 2006 Annual Meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science on the potential consequences of anti-aging therapies for population growth
  • Developed a novel method for measuring physiological dysregulation using blood biomarker profiles readily available in clinic
  • Disproved the longstanding theory for the evolution of menopause and proposed an alternative

   

Know-How & Opportunities for Collaboration

  • Statistics: Variable condensation methods (Principal components analysis, factor analysis, etc), Regression models (linear, logistic, Poisson, multi-level), Bayesian models, Simulations of natural processes, Graphical representation of complex data, and Complex systems and solutions to collinearity in regression models
  • Aging: Demography, Physiological mechanisms, Early-life effects and relation to development, and Evolutionary theories
  • Demography: Formal (mathematical) demography, Age-period-cohort models, Lexis diagrams
  • Physiology: Regulatory networks at long timescales, Metabolism, Antioxidants and oxidative stress systems
  • Epidemiology and Population health: Disease indices, Geographical analysis, Modeling socioeconomic factors in disease, Malaria epidemiology
  • Ecology and evolution: Life history theory, Avian Biology, Evolutionary Ecology, Animal Physiological Ecology

   

To top

Alan Cohen, Ph. D.

Chercheur
Axe Santé: populations, organisation, pratiques
Centre de recherche du CHUS

Professeur adjoint
Département de Médecine de famille et de médecine d’urgence
Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé
Université de Sherbrooke

Coordonnées
Téléphone | 819 346-1110 poste 72590
Télécopieur | 819 564-5386
Courriel |
Alan.Cohen@USherbrooke.ca

  

Importance de la recherche

Le chercheur Alan Cohen s’intéresse depuis longtemps au développement et à l’application de nouvelles méthodes statistiques afin de mieux répondre, aux problèmes liés à la santé des populations et à des questions biologiques fondamentales, plus particulièrement le vieillissement. Nous savons que le processus du vieillissement est très complexe, mais nous ne comprenons pas encore les mécanismes biologiques fondamentaux du vieillissement ni comment et pourquoi ces mécanismes varient entre les espèces.

Le docteur Cohen utilise des données épidémiologiques longitudinales pour établir des relations causales entre les mécanismes sous-jacents au vieillissement et certains biomarqueurs. Il applique des méthodes similaires à différentes espèces pour comprendre comment les réseaux physiologiques de régulation fonctionnent à différentes échelles de temps, comment les mesurer et leurs conséquences sur l’évolution de la physiologie au cours du temps en fonction de changements environnementaux et de la pression de sélection. À long terme, il espère générer une méthode pour mesurer l’âge biologique, qui pourrait être appliqué en clinique. Ces travaux permettront de comprendre comment les facteurs sociaux et économiques accélèrent le vieillissement et les maladies chroniques dans les populations défavorisées. Il collabore largement à d’autres études qui utilisent les méthodes statistiques pour comprendre la santé des populations à l’aide de biomarqueurs.

 

Vers le haut

Réalisations représentatives

  • Développement d’une nouvelle théorie de l’évolution du vieillissement, la théorie des « contraintes systémiques »
  • Organisation d’un symposium au congrès annuel de  The American Association for the Advancement of Science sur les conséquences potentielles des thérapies anti-âge sur la croissance de la population
  • Développement d’une méthode innovatrice de mesure de la dérégulation physiologique à partir des biomarqueurs sanguins facilement disponibles en clinique
  • Réfutation de la théorie évolutionnaire de la ménopause et proposition d’une théorie alternative

  

Savoir-faire

  • Statistiques : Méthodes pour simplification des variables (Analyses des composantes principales, Analyses des facteurs, etc.), Modèles de régression (linéaire, logistique, Poisson, multi-niveaux), modèles bayésiens
  • Simulation de processus naturels, Représentation graphique de données complexes et de systèmes complexes, et solutions à colinéarité dans des modèles de régression
  • Vieillissement : Démographie, mécanismes physiologiques, relation avec le développement, et théories évolutionnaires
  • Démographie : démographie formelle (mathématique)  Modèles de Age-period-cohort, 'Lexis diagrams'
  • Physiologie : Réseaux de régulation sur de longues échelles de temps, Métabolisme, Antioxydants et systèmes de stress oxydatifs
  • Épidémiologie et Santé des populations : indices pour surveillance des maladies, Analyse géographique, Modélisation des facteurs socioéconomiques de la maladie, Épidémiologie de la malaria
  • Écologie et évolution : Théorie sur les histoires de vie, Biologie aviaire, Écologie de l’évolution, Écologie de la physiologie animale

    

Vers le haut